Right now, there are many ways to accidentally delete precious captured data.
- Accidentally pressing Ctrl+W (closing the current capture tab without warning)
- Accidentally clicking the 'x' on a capture tab
- Accidentally pressing R (start a new capture, overwriting previously captured data) and Ctrl-T (creating a timing marker pair) shortcuts
- The app accidentally gets closed
- The PC shutds down during a capture
- The app crashes or hangs during a capture
- Accidentally double-clicking the stop button during a capture (which starts a new capture and overwrites what was already recorded)
A few potential ways to solve this issue:
1. Requiring deliberate work to delete data
2. Have a default warning popup everytime you want to start a new capture (which can be disabled)
3. Having a recovery system to recover previously closed tabs
"Control+W keyboard command has no warning prompt!
If you have a captured session and have marked it up and/or typed notes when you try to close the session it should ask if you want to save it before closing.
I understand this is my fault but on my keyboard I have a shifted 'layer' which has the "Control+W" keyboard shortcut bound to a key. Sometimes I forget I am in my 'command' layer when I start typing. In this case I accidentally closed the session and lost everything! I've done this a few times now... This happens a lot for me but all other programs I use prompt me if I have unsaved changes so I have never lost anything before. Yours should too."
"Suggestion: please don't allow overwriting a session without a prompt/warning (it's fine to have an option to disable that warning but would have it off by default). I've hit "R" accidentally which overwrote a session, or sometimes when I hit the stop button I double click like a newb and end up overwriting the session. I know there's "L" for lock but I was about to lock the session when I double-clicked the stop (which did stop+start) overwriting it. I seem to make these errors a lot so a prompt requiring me to move my mouse or hit tab-tab-enter (Cancel->Ok->press via keyboard) would prevent my mistakes from losing data :) Thank you!"
"when saving the capture during Sterilization of the data the application became not responding and I waited for 2 hours and still didn’t respond. Unfortunately, I lost all the data from the test. I understand you can export the data but that cannot be imported back into the application. Are there any steps you would follow to save a capture properly? Is there a way to recover the data when the app crashes?"
"Allow sampling to file while running for low sample rates, to ensure that the sample is not lost afterwards, e.g. due to user failure.
By "user failure" I consider the case where the user by accident closes the app, but there could also be cases where the capture PC shuts down for other reasons.
Regarding streaming to file, then then Saleae Pro with USB 3.0 has a bandwidth limit of 4.8 Gb/s, where my SSD at PCIe 3.0 x4 can write about 20 Gb/s, so for raw bandwidth, so modern SSD drives are hardly the bottleneck."
"Suggestion to auto save the Logic 2 session SAL file for the current tab whenever a new tab is opened. The Logic 2 software for windows sometimes freezes such that it is impossible to save existing captures. Auto save would mitigate against this event. The software could be restarted and SAL files of interest reopened for review. Intermediate save of the SAL file for the session in progress whenever data acquisition is halted may also be helpful."
"I had an issue with usability of the tabbed session interface. I've just accidentally deleted recording Session 27 from the Saleae Logic analyser. I intended to click on the next tab key (white ">") just next to the delete tab key (grey x) left of it. The ">" and "x" buttons are too close to each other. My suggestion is to pop up a confirmation dialog when deleting a tab, unless the session has no data in it. The user could configure this pop up to be disabled if they prefer not to have it."
if the channel settings are the same I could imagine an append mode, maybe introduce additional markers "record 1"; "record 2"...
"Is it possible to restore data on crashed Logic2"
"[2. Having a recovery system to recover previously closed tabs] is cool, but I would be worried about the memory usage… a long/fast capture might use gigabytes of memory, so there should be a way to delete it for good.
Gmail has a good workflow: for a few seconds after a destructive operation it displays a popup with Undo. Even after the popup is gone, the deleted content is in the Trash folder for few weeks.
Maybe Logic could have a popup with two buttons:
- DELETE FOR REAL
and if you don’t click either of them the deleted data goes to the undelete buffer if you decide to implement it.
A fallback from that could be just CONFIRM DELETE (no undelete buffer)"
Original request and discussion here:
"This is not a new issue with 2.3.23, but I noticed that it’s too easy to inadvertently create and delete sessions. The former is relatively innocuous—it’s easy to delete a spurious session. The second is a big deal, as it discards the data collected in that session.
I am working on a laptop with a touchpad (Linux/Fedora). I havent quite figured out how I trigger the first issue: ther must be some shortcut or action I inadvertently do to create new empty Sessions. As mentioned above, this is not a big problem—I just delete those that I don’t need.
The inadvertent deletion is more of a problem—it happens to me when I try to go back to earlier session, and accidentally click on the 'X" instead of on the rest of the tab which would select that session.
I suggest following the UI in the browsers like Firefox: the tabs not currently selected do NOT have the delete ('X") button; you can only delete the currently open tab…"